Braintree integration - PCI Compliant - Using Hosted Fields

(Emily) #1

Hi Squizees,

Has anyone substituted the Braintree Payment Gateway fields for Braintree’s “Hosted Fields” or Drop-In UI?

I have been asked to setup a Braintree Payment Gateway – I have never used the eCommerce in Matrix before. Having gone through the tutorials my product-to-payment is working fine. I have created a Sandbox account in Braintree for testing, and have put the IDs & Keys into Matrix.

However, it occurs to me that the Matrix integration would not be category “A / A-EP” under the PCI DSS (https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/pci_security/completing_self_assessment), since it holds & processes the fields. (“doesn’t directly receive cardholder data” being a requirement of Category A & A-EP; even though it doesn’t store it). It would thus be Category D - a lot of paperwork.

Braintree offer their Drop-In UI and Hosted Fields solutions, which are PCI A / A-EP compliant – which is ideal for this situation.

But I am having trouble getting their Drop-In or Hosted Fields to work when placed in the Braintree Payment Gateway form. (I was hoping I might be able to just replace the matrix fields with the Hosted Fields. Although I read in an old 2017 forum post that the Matrix Braintree Gateway is based off the Drop-In UI? Matrix 5.4.3.0 Released)

I am not a programmer - I am a HTML/CSS (and validity/usability/accessibility/readability/etc) person, so I am a bit out of my depth reading their documentation/tutorials, which begin with installing things. I am/was hoping this may be what is already installed into Martix as part of the Braintree asset, but when I add the JS and HTML from their example code, it doesn’t show the input fields.

If not, I will find a programmer to help me set it up the first time, so I learn how to do it. But thought if someone here has already done it, that would be good.

Thanks,
Emily

(Chiranjivi Upreti) #2

Hi Emily