Bulk change of type 2 link assets to type 1

(Jennifer Weiley) #1

I have created hundreds of link assets as type 2 as I thought I had to in order to hide them from turning up in search results. Turns out that the Resources environment for the site just had to be hidden from users.

The problem I have is that, as an admin, I can’t search the URLs that the link assets point to because they are all type 2. Doh!

Is it possible to bulk change link assets from type 2 to type 1? I’m thinking this might need development work to create a script or a painstaking session of one-by-one changes.

Squiz Matrix v5.4.7.1

(Harinder Singh) #2

You can use triggers to change the Links’ type. Try the following and see if it is resolving your issue.

http://www.zedsaid.com/blog/batch-change-asset-link-types-in-squiz-matrix-using-triggers

The only limitation I have found using trigger is that you have to set root nodes manually.

Note: Try to test this first before running trigger on large set of assets.

(Bart Banda) #3

Why does this depend on the link type? Do you mean you can’t search for them using a Matrix search asset? That shouldn’t matter… Not sure why you need to make them type 1 links in order to search for them?

(Jennifer Weiley) #4

Hi @Bart ,

That’s right - I can’t find any links via search. They are all Type 2 AND we have hidden the ‘Resources’ asset from search so that the raw asset doesn’t turn up in search results. But it means that when you are in Admin or Edit you can’t locate the asset through the asset finder in EditPlus or search in Admin.

So if I’m editing a page and want to link to an asset I have created for www.testurl.com.au, I go to the asset search and type in www.testurl.com.au and get zero results.

This is a major problem as we have hundreds of links built as assets. It’s one of the most genius features of Matrix but not being able to search means I have to scroll through the collection to find a link asset.

(Bart Banda) #5