Noob trying to install Squiz and not getting very far

(Mfrost) #1

My host has got postgresql installed on my server and i am using phppgadmin to run the set up of the db. Created DB and users and can see they are there and permissions set ok. But in the next step I get:

ERROR: syntax error at or near "$" at character 1

In statement:

$ createlang -U postgres plpgsql mysource_matrix

And I run several accounts (organising things thorugh cpanel) on this server and need to know where in the account set up for this squiz install I should extract the archive from… Can you help a noob here?

FYI, server runs current CentOS and postgresql version is 8.1.22.

Mark

(Aleks Bochniak) #2

Try without the $ at the front

(Mfrost) #3

Well, I finally figured out the problem – needed to get into the right account/login to get permissions to do that. so, i have managed that step. Now I need to figure out where to extract the archive as I share my server across a number of cpanel accounts and I want squiz to exist in only one. So the base of this account is /home/squiz, not user/local. Any ideas on how I translate this to work for me?

m

(Benjamin Pearson) #4

[quote]
Well, I finally figured out the problem – needed to get into the right account/login to get permissions to do that. so, i have managed that step. Now I need to figure out where to extract the archive as I share my server across a number of cpanel accounts and I want squiz to exist in only one. So the base of this account is /home/squiz, not user/local. Any ideas on how I translate this to work for me?

m

[/quote]

Not exactly sure, what you are trying to do here, but Matrix should be able to install with any path (there is no hardcoded path, everything underneath is relative to the root directory), you would just have to change the commands to match your setup. For example php /home/squiz/install/step_01.php /home/squiz.