Optional Secondary Menu

(Michael Wilson) #1

Hello,

I’m fairly new to Squiz Matrix and was wondering, if a site design has a top menu and I want to add the ability for sections of a website to have a secondary left menu, what is the best way to achieve this in the design parse file? I.e. Do I still have a single parse file with both menus and provide a way for the secondary menu to be enabled and configured to start at a particular root node?

Thanks
M

(Bart Banda) #2

Pretty much, most common way is to set it to present at a certain asset depth level, so for example, only show on level 2 items and below.

Check out this page of the manuals for more information https://matrix.squiz.net/manuals/designs/chapters/menu-normal-design-area#Create-Sub-Menus

(Michael Wilson) #3

The requirement is to only show on certain sections of the site, such as an annual report. Would this be done via a design customisation or a Show If Design Area? Or neither?

(Tim Trodd) #4

You could do this via metadata. Have it set to no, then the option to turn the second nav on.

We create the secondary nav like normal, but set it not to print.

Then further down:

<MySource_AREA id_name="layout" design_area="show_if">
        <MySource_SET name="condition" value="keyword_regexp" />
        <MySource_SET name="condition_keyword" value="asset_metadata_Page.Template.Settings" />
        <MySource_SET name="condition_keyword_match" value="lhs_page" />
        <MySource_THEN>
            <div class="grid">
                <div class="grid--25">
                    <MySource_PRINT id_name="nav_secondary" />
                </div>
                <div class="grid--75">
                    <MySource_PRINT id_name="body" />
                </div>
            </div>
        </MySource_THEN>
        <MySource_ELSE>
            <MySource_PRINT id_name="body" />
        </MySource_ELSE>

</MySource_AREA>

This way it will only print depending on the metadata field.

(Michael Wilson) #5