Related-Assets Listing

(Emily) #1

Matrix Version: 5.5.0

Hi brains trust,

With the “Related Asset Listing” being depreciated, and the Asset Listing now having a “Related Node” & Thesaurus options, is that now the “best” way to do a related-asset list?

I must be doing something wrong in my settings, because I can’t get it to output results.
All the asset listings / search pages have the default for page status (so as a System Admin, I should be able to see the Under Construction assets). (Although I did do a test by setting one Live, but it still did not show up as related.)

Setup:

• News item page. Has a Paint Layout applied.
  • Paint Layout nests a “Related News” section at the bottom of the page (an Asset Listing).
  • The nested Asset Listing has a Replacement Related Root Node of “Current Asset (asset ID)”. *
  • The nested Asset Listing also has a default Related Root Node, and has a “Thesaurus Filter” set to the News Category Thesaurus. (Is this what I’m meant to do?)
  • The News Items have a metadata field which is a Thesaurus term, “type” (a term from the News Category Thesaurus).

*Will this be reading the Paint Layout, or the Frontend Asset’s Asset ID? Perhaps this is my problem?

What have I missed?
What have I misunderstood?

I can see a number of posts with this problem from around 2007-2009, but none recent using the newer assets - and a number of the older ones link to the old forum URL & thus broken links in answers of “see this thread”.

I also attempted to do it with a Search page for the News Items - using the Nested Content GET variables, but for some reason didn’t work either.